Log in


The Ivory Moore Community College, Undergraduate & Graduate Scholarships

The Ivory Moore Community College, Undergraduate and Graduate Scholarships are named in honor of Mr. Ivory Moore, a retired educator and administrator at Texas A & M at Commerce (formerly East Texas State University), and one of the founders of the Texas Association of Black Personnel in Higher Education.

Scholarship awards:

  • Ivory Moore Two Year Institution Undergraduate Scholarship: $500
  • Ivory Moore Four Year Institution Undergraduate Scholarship: $1000
  • Ivory Moore Graduate Scholarship: $1000

Eligibility Criteria:

  • Must be a student currently enrolled in a, State of TEXAS, two-year institution, four year institute or a graduate program at the master or doctoral level, accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS). (click for list of SACS accredited schools)
  • Must be a current full-time student (minimum 12 undergraduate hours/9 graduate hours).
  • Must have and maintained a 3.00 overall GPA (on a 4.00 scale)

Application Guidelines and Requirements:

  • Must submit a current transcript (from all colleges or universities attended).  Unofficial transcripts are accepted for the application process.  If you are selected as a finalist in your category, you will be required to submit an official transcript within 10 days of notification.  The scholarship winner will be chosen from the finalists
  • Must submit proof of enrollment from the registrar (2 Year College, 4 Year University, or Graduate University/Institute)
  • Must submit a current headshot  (high resolution preferred) for publication purposes only
  • Must submit a recommendation form completed by an academic advisor, program director or faculty member
  • Must submit a current resume
  • Must submit a 500-word (double spaced, 12 pt. font, 2 pages or less) essay addressing the following topic:

“As an African American student pursuing a degree in the 21st century, how will the Ivory Moore Scholarship assist me in my future career endeavors?”

*Note: Only complete applications that meet ALL scholarship criteria will be reviewed.

Student Applicant: Submit completed applications to scholarships@tabphe.org

Academic Advisor/Program Director/Faculty Member: Submit completed Scholarship Recommendation Forms to scholarships@tabphe.org

The submission deadline for all applicant materials is February 1st, 2019.

Contact Us

Nicole Bell, TABPHE Scholarship Chair


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software