Log in


TABPHE Founder's Awards

The Texas Association of Black Personnel in Higher Education (TABPHE) is happy to announce that we have created three outstanding awards for our founders: Reby Carey, Erma J. Hadley, and Ivory Moore. These awards align with the overall mission and vision of TABPHE, exemplify the spirit of our founders, and also recognize those members who are currently in good standing with TABPHE.


The Award Categories are:   

Reby Cary Community Engagement Award recognizes an individual for outstanding achievement in community  elations while challenging the status quo for improvement in social justice through the spirit of engagement and activism. (This award is open to any faculty or staff member in good standing with a local chapter).  

Erma J. Hadley Academic Award recognizes a faculty member who has achieved academic success via curricular and co-curricular experiences. The hallmark of this individual is found – in outstanding educational growth, a venue of encouragement, and the intellectual development of students. (This award is open to only a faculty member in good standing with a local chapter).

Ivory Moore Service Award recognizes an individual whose life models service to humanity. It is given to one who exemplifies the servant leadership style, thus going beyond the call of duty and honor to society through service. (This award is open to any faculty or staff member in good standing with a local chapter)


Submission of Documentation for Award Consideration:  

To be considered for any of the Founders Awards, the following information must be submitted for consideration:  

  • A letter of nomination from a current TABPHE member OR a letter of self-nomination.  Please include in the letter of nomination any activities the nominee is involved with at the local and/or state TABPHE level. (please state which award you are seeking).
  • Two (2) letters of reference/support for your chosen award category.

The deadline for submitting all materials is January 9, 2024 Late submissions will not be accepted. Those selected for an award will be notified by January 16, 2024.  The nominee's responsibility is to ensure that all required documentation is sent before the deadline mentioned above. 


Honorees MUST ATTEND THE TABPHE CONFERENCE. Each honoree will be introduced and receive a plaque during the awards ceremony.


Please send documents to:

Dr. LaVelle Hendricks, Chair of the Founders Awards Committee

Texas A&M University-Commerce

Department of Counseling

P.O. Box 3011

Commerce, TX 75429

-or email all documents to: Lavelle.Hendricks@tamuc.edu

 We look forward to hearing from you soon.


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software